The 5th Annual AABCS
5th Anniversary Celebration

Date: October 17 – 24, 2004
Ship: The Carnival Cruise Ship “CONQUEST”
Ports: New Orleans, LA – Montego Bay, Jamaica and Cozumel Mexico

2004 Authors

Front Row (L to R): Francis Ray, TJ Butler, Kathy Mitchell Thomas, Victoria Christopher Murray, Robin Pendleton, Stormy Steele, Kendra Norman-Bellamy, Vanessa Miller, Ursula Inga Kindred, Mirranda Guerin-Williams, Jetola Anderson Blair, Parry Brown, Naleighna Kai, Brandon Massey and Dr. Christine Blonun.

Back Row (L to R): Travis Hunter, Jeanetta Britt, Jihad Shaheed Uhuru, Eric Jerome Dickey, Nina Foxx and Victor McGlothin.

1st Annual Short Story Contest

Winner:  Kendra Norman-Bellamy – Stolen Waters are Sweet

Kendra (center) with Finalists Kathy Thomas Mithchel and Stormy Steele

Kendra (center) with Finalists Kathy Thomas Mithchel and Stormy Steele

Cruisin’ For Love by Stormy Steele

 Two Tickets to Paradise  by Kathy Mitchell Thomas

2004 AABCS Cruise Winner Sponsored by Black Expressions

Winner Kathie Smith with authors Eric Jerome Dickey and Travis Hunter

The 2004 Commemorative Souvenir Booklet Cover Design is by the talented artist LaShun Beal.

LaShun Beal is a native of Detroit, who now resides in the Houston area. Although he’s taken a few classes, he has no formal art training and really considers himself to be a self-taught artist. Beal’s subject matter seems to revolve around female characters. His style depicts the many differences of African-American women. Over the last few years he’s developed his signature Universal Women character which has came to be associated with his name.

To purchase art by LaShun Beal please visit his web site: http://www.lashunbealfinearts.com/